Poster Artist

Laurent Durrey

Laurent Durrey is a poster artist born in 1967 in Bordeaux, France.
He travels the whole world in search of new posters, which he selects, fragments and lacerates, thus obtaining a multitude of pigments. From these bridles that he collects, he composes his paintings.

He defines himself as a new realist, creating from the existing. He composes, decomposes, glues, takes off topical posters and thus continues the research of the "new poster realists" of the 1950s and 60s.

Laurent Durrey immersed himself in the place, starting by "collecting" the posters pasted on the surrounding walls. His art consist of combining a lived or imagined event, with these posters and all that they reflect of these places. A new story emerges from this marriage ans represents the common thread in the development of his canvas.

Artistic vision

The streets; a global culture

He transcribes his vision of the street through his works. With these fragments and lacerations of paper, he “intimidates” the subjects of the public domain and thus integrates them into our interior.
The face, a figurative element, is the central point on which the composition of his work is based.

Laurent Durrey's work thus mixes images of the street, Hollywood icons and the world of entertainment, local specialties and others. All belonging to this common and globalized culture that surrounds us and makes us reflect on our own sensory experiences.

My workshop is an organized bazaar.
My paintings too.

Laurent Durrey

Affichiste

DURREY Laurent

Laurent Durrey est un artiste affichiste né en 1967 à Bordeaux.
Il parcourt le monde entier en quête de nouvelles affiches, qu’il sélectionne, fragmente et lacère obtenant ainsi une multitude de pigments. De ces brides qu’il collectionne, il compose ses tableaux.

Il se définit comme nouveau réaliste, créant à partir de l’existant. nIl compose, décompose, colle, décolle des affiches d’actualité et poursuit ainsi les recherches des nouveaux réalistes affichistes des années 1950-60.

Laurent Durrey s’imprègne du lieu en commençant par « récolter » les affiches collées sur les murs alentours. Son travail va constituer à combiner un événement vécu ou imaginé, avec ces affiches et tout ce qu’elles reflètent de ces lieux. Une nouvelle histoire naitra de ce mariage, et constituera le fil conducteur dans l’élaboration de sa toile.

Vision artistique

La rue, une culture globale

Il transcrit à travers ses œuvres sa vision de la rue. Avec ces fragments et ces lacérations de papier, il « intimise » les sujets du domaine public et les intègre ainsi en notre intérieur.
Le visage, élément figuratif, est le point central sur lequel s’appuie la composition de son œuvre.

Le travail de Laurent Durrey mêle ainsi images de la rue, icônes hollywoodiennes et monde du spectacle, spécialités locales et autres. Toutes appartenant à cette culture commune et mondialisée qui nous entoure et nous renvoie à notre propre expériences sensorielles.

Mon atelier est un bazar organisé.
Mes toiles aussi.

Laurent Durrey