Sculptor

HERENDA Mirsad

Mirsad Herenda is a post-war and contemporary Bosnian artist born in 1967. 

He is the sixth son of a peasant family in a small mountain village in Bosnia. He grew up in preserve Nature and in contact with animals from the forest.

He was confronted with the destruction of nature during wars fought in the former Yugoslavia. He became deeply marked by how fragile life is. His artworks are interpreted as reactions to the devastation processes of the experiences he had during the war. 

He enrolled at the Academy of Fine Arts in Sarajevo in 1996 and then in Bremen. His sculptures are exhibited in Europe, as in Germany, Italy and France.

2019

Round Tree Of Life

48 x 58 x 58 cm
Steel wire
Unique piece

With his sculptures, he evokes highly poetic atmospheres, in which the simultaneity of nature, vulnerability and cruelty emerge: fine moss and steel lichens, the dramatic moment of a fleeing goat, a blowing wind gently on the sheets of molten metal. 

Mirsad Herenda's artworks evoke poetic atmospheres, in which vulnerability and cruelty emerge. His pieces are detailed with fine moss, steel lichens as give the impression that wind is blowing gently on the metal. 

Herenda's sculptures are monuments, not only because of their sometimes imposing size, but because they reflect the fragility of people through the twist of metal.

Domenico Maria Papa

Sculpteur

HERENDA Mirsad

Mirsad Herenda est un artiste bosniaque d'après-guerre et contemporain.
Né en 1967, sixième fils d’une famille de paysans dans un petit village de montagne, a grandi dans une nature intacte, au contact de la forêt et de ses animaux, tout en subissant Dès sa plus tendre enfance, l’artiste est sensibilisé aux seuils de vie.

Dans les guerres d'ex-Yougoslavie, il est confronté à la destruction du monde. Il est profondément marqué par la fragilité et l'explosivité des frontières politiques et existentielles, et par la fluctuation de la vie et la mort.

Sans que sa famille le sache, il s’inscrit à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Sarajevo en 1996, puis étudie à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Brême sous la direction de Franka Hörnschemeyer.

Les sculptures de Mirsad Herenda exposées à Munich, Milan, Turin et Berlin sont des manifestations coagulées de ces expériences, tout en étant comprises comme des réactions sensibles aux processus dévastateurs du temps présent.

2019

Round Tree Of Life

48 x 58 x 58 cm
Fil d’acier
Pièce unique

Avec ses sculptures, il évoque des ambiances hautement poétiques, dans lesquelles la simultanéité de la nature, la vulnérabilité et la cruauté se dessinent : de la mousse fine et des lichens en acier, le moment dramatique d’une chèvre fuyant, un vent qui souffle doucement sur les feuilles de métal en fusion.

Les sculptures de Herenda sont des monuments, pas seulement du fait de leur dimension parfois imposante, mais parce qu'elles reflètent la fragilité des gens à travers la torsion du métal.

Domenico Maria Papa